6/25/17 Opportunities In Prison

“My brothers and sisters, I don’t want you to be discouraged because of my imprisonment.  It has actually worked out for good, enabling me to bring the good news of Jesus’ sacrificial gift to places I may otherwise never have been able to go.  The entire palace guard, and many palace residents as well, have heard His message and have seen that I am not a prisoner of Rome, but of Jesus.  Not only that, but most of the brothers and sisters who have been doing this same work alongside me have been strengthened by my experience as a prisoner of Jesus, and have found a greater courage in boldly speaking the words given to them by the Holy Spirit wherever and whenever they are called to do so, no matter the audience.  We all know that there are some among us who spread the message of Jesus with mixed motives, hoping for personal gain from their work, even sometimes hoping to stir up contention among the brothers in order to make my  imprisonment more difficult.  But then there are so many others who spread the message of Jesus with a pure heart, out of their love for our Lord, and some even out of love for me as well, knowing that Jesus called me to this work.  But either way, I rejoice, because whether the message is spread out of mixed motives or pure ones, it is still being spread.  People are hearing what Jesus wants them to hear, and that is always a good thing.”

 

Philippians 1:12-18

Leave a Reply

