10/2/16 Paul’s Plan To Visit

“I had planned to come to you soon, but I have changed my plans a bit.  I will come after passing through Macedonia, and I hope to be able to spend the winter with you, and have you send me joyfully and prayerfully on my way in the spring.  I will not come to you on the way to Macedonia, as I had originally planned, because then I will not be able to stay with you.  But if God is willing, I will come to you on my way back from Macedonia.  For now, I plan to stay in Ephesus until after Pentecost.  There is much confusion and dissention here now, with Passover and Easter upon us, and it is a great opportunity for me to share Jesus’ message with many people.  I have sent Timothy and another brother to you already, so if this letter arrives before they do, I implore you to treat them well.  Don’t give them any reason to be nervous or fearful among you.  I know that they are young and fairly new to the faith, but they are strong in their faith and working hard to do God’s will, under my direction.  Please, do not treat them badly because of their youth and inexperience.  I am also sending Titus and another brother with this letter, so please receive them joyfully and respectfully, and send them back to me, along with Timothy and our other brother with him, in peace and with prayer, because I will be eagerly waiting for their return.  I had asked our brother Apollos to accompany Titus with this letter, but because of the division among you and his place in that division, he does not feel that it would be beneficial to you for him to come to you now.  He will instead come to visit you when he is led by God’s Holy Spirit to do so, and when he feels that his coming will not further divide you.”

 

1 Corinthians 16:5-12

Leave a Reply

