4/8/16 We Are Not Drunk!

The apostles look at each other.  Drunk?  Really?  Peter holds up his hands and addresses the people, “Hear me, people of the Lord!  My companions and I are most certainly not drunk!  It is much too early in the morning for wine – it’s only 9:00!  No, trust me, this is the work of God, prophesied by Joel many years ago.  He said, ‘”In the last days,” sayeth the Lord, “I will pour out my Spirit on all people, your sons and daughters will prophesy.  Your young men will see vision, your old men will dream dreams.  In those days I will pour out my Spirit even on my servants – my menservants and my maidservants – and they will prophesy.  I will cause wonders in the heavens above and signs on the earth below – blood and fire and pillars of smoke.  The sun will be turned to darkness and the moon will be turned to blood before the coming of the great and terrible Day of the Lord.  And everyone who calls upon the Name of the Lord will be saved.”’  Hear me, my brothers!  Jesus of Nazareth is God’s Son, our Messiah, the Promised One.  God showed us this by working through Him to do miracles – healing the sick, the blind, and the lame, casting out demons, and proclaiming the Good News that the Kingdom of Heaven is upon us.  Everything that happened to Jesus was foretold, and everything happened according to the prophecies.  Jesus was betrayed by one of His own, given over to the authorities, and together, Jews and Gentiles both beat Him and crucified Him.  But after He died, on the third day He was raised back to life again.  He defeated Satan and death itself for all of us, paying the penalty for our sins once and for all.  This, too, was prophesied.  King David said, ‘I have set the Lord always before Me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.  Therefore my heart is glad and my glory rejoices.  My flesh also will rest in hope.  For You will not leave my soul in Sheol (death/Hades/Hell), nor will You allow Your Holy One to see corruption.  You will show me the path of life; in Your presence is fullness of joy; at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.’

 

Acts 2:14-28, Joel 2:28-32, Psalm 16:8-11

Leave a Reply

