3/13/16 The Holy Spirit Will Come

Jesus asks His apostles, “Do you love Me?”  They all profess that they do, and so Jesus says, “If you love Me, then do what I ask you to do.  My words, My commandments are part of who I AM, and in keeping them you show that you love Me and want to be like Me.  I must physically leave you, but do not worry, because I will not leave you alone.  I will send you another helper, the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Truth, who is also one with Me and with My Father.  He will come to you and live in your hearts.  Because the world does not know Me, they will not know Him.  But you know Him already, because you know Me.  He will be with you always, guiding you home to Me.  Soon the world will see Me no more, but because you are Mine, you will still be with Me, and you will have eternal life because I have eternal life.  And when the right time comes, you will know that I AM in My Father, you are in Me, and I AM in you.  Anyone who has My commandments written on their hearts and loves to keep them shows that he loves Me.  Anyone who loves Me will be loved by My Father and by Me, and will see Me and know that I AM always with them.”  The other apostle named Judas asks, “Rabbi, how will you show yourself to us but not to the rest of the world?”  Jesus tells him, “When I tell you something, the words are not My own, but My Father speaking through Me.  If you keep My word and follow My commands, you show that you love Me and My Father.  We will send the Holy Spirit to you to live in your heart, so that you will be with Us always.  The Holy Spirit will help you to remember all the things that you have heard Me say to you.  Just as I have been teaching you, He will do the same, from within you.  I must leave you soon, and leave this world in the hands of Satan for a time.  But I will leave My peace to you.  It is not an inheritance like you would receive from someone in this world.  It is something that can never be taken away from you once granted.  Do not worry or be afraid.  I told you I AM leaving you and will come back to you again.  If you love Me, you will be happy that I AM going back to be with My Father, because He is greater than I AM.  I AM telling you this now, so that when all these things come to pass you will believe what I have told you is to come.  I do what My Father has given Me to do, so that the world will know that I love My Father.  Now, come, let’s leave this place and finish our conversation elsewhere.”

 

John 14:15-31

Leave a Reply

