3/12/16 The Map To Get To Heaven

Jesus sees the looks of despair on His apostles’ faces.  “Don’t be sad or afraid.  Trust Me, and trust My Father.  You will all be with Me in the Kingdom of Heaven, where I AM soon to go in order to prepare a special place for each of you.  The Kingdom of Heaven does not have the same limitations that earth has – there is room there to make a place designed especially for each person who enters.  Would I have told you that if it was not true?  When the time is right, I will call you to Me so that you may forevermore be with Me.  You know where I AM going, and you know how to follow after Me.”  But Thomas, panicking, exclaims, “But, Rabbi, we don’t know where You are going, so how can we know how to follow You?”  Jesus looks at him calmly and says, “I AM the Way, the Truth, and the Life.  In order to get to the Kingdom of Heaven, in order to get to My Father, you must go through Me – accept the gift of eternity in Heaven that I offer, believe that I and I alone can get you there, and live your lives in anticipation of the life to come.  If you really knew Me, you would also know My Father.  Soon you will understand Me much better than you do now, and because of this, you will be able to say that you know My Father and have seen Him.”  Philip is listening, he really is, but his mind is whirring with all the things Jesus has been telling them.  He doesn’t understand any of it.  “Rabbi, all we want is for You to show us Your Father.”  Jesus tells him, “Philip, you have been with Me all this time.  Surely by now you know that My Father and I are one!  If you have seen Me, you have seen My Father also.  I AM in Him and He is in Me.  I speak the words that He gives Me to speak.  I do His will.  Do you not believe this, after everything you have seen?  Even if you don’t believe My words, believe what you have seen Me do.  I tell you, whoever truly believes in Me will be able to do what I do, even greater things than I have done, because you will be here while I will be with My Father in Heaven.  All you need to do is pray earnestly in My Name for what you desire and I will make it happen, to give glory to My Father’s Name.”

 

John 14:1-14

Leave a Reply

