1/12/16 Trustworthy Servants

Jesus continues, “The new king returned to his kingdom and summoned his servants.  He asked them to show an account of what each had done with the money entrusted to him.  The first servant brought his ledger to the king and said, ‘Oh, my king, you entrusted me with $500, and I have invested this money.  Now it has grown to $5000!’  The king praised his servant, saying, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant!  Since you have proved yourself in this matter, I will give you 10 cities to rule over under my command.’  The next servant showed his ledger to the king and told him, ‘Oh, my king, you entrusted me with $200, and my investments have made you an additional $200.’  Again, the king praised his servant, saying, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant!  Since you have proved yourself in this matter, I will give you 5 cities to rule over under my command.’  The third servant was very nervous.  He approached the king slowly and bowed his head to the floor.  ‘My king,’ he mumbled, still looking at the floor, ‘You gave me $100.  I know that you are a hard man, collecting money that you do not earn and crops that you did not plant.  And so I was afraid and hid your money, lest I be robbed of it and have nothing to give to you upon your return.  Here is your $100.’”

Matthew 25:16-24, Luke 19:15-21

Leave a Reply

