12/25/15 When I Come Again

Jesus turns to His apostles and tells them, “In the future, you will look back on this time and wish it was still with you.  You will earnestly look for My coming again, and that is right and good.  But be careful, because many people will try to deceive you.  They will say, ‘Look!  It’s Jesus!  He’s returned, come with me and I’ll take you to Him!’  Don’t believe what you hear from other people.  Remember this:  I will not return in secret.  When I return it will be like when lightning splits the sky and illuminates it from east to west.  All will know that I AM come again.  But before that day comes, I must finish the work that My Father has given Me to do here and now.  I must suffer at the hands of the religious leaders, and bear the rejection of My people.  And then, in the day of My return, it will be like it was in the days of Noah, or of Lot.  People were going about their busy lives, paying no attention to God’s will for them.  They were so caught up in themselves that they refused to listen to the warnings put forth by Noah or Lot.  Then, in Lot’s day, the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah were suddenly destroyed, along with all the inhabitants who had refused to heed the warnings.  In Noah’s day, the flood came and destroyed all the people who refused to listen to Noah’s warning.  And so it will be again, in the day that I return, when people of that generation will refuse to heed My warnings.”

Luke 17:22-30

Leave a Reply

