9/13/15 My Closest Friends And Relatives May Not Really Be My Neighbors

In response, Jesus tells a story.  “A Jewish man travels from Jerusalem to Jericho.  On the road, he encounters bandits, who rob him of his horse, his clothing, and all his possessions.  They beat him and leave him lying there on the side of the road to die.  After a little while, a Levite priest comes by on his way to serve in the Temple.  He sees the man and feels sorry for him for a moment, but says to himself, ‘This man must have brought this on himself.  I don’t know who he is, where he comes from, or what kind of man he is.  I have no way of knowing if he is alive or dead, clean or unclean, unless I go over there and touch him, and if I do that I will defile myself and will not be able to serve in the Temple.’  So the priest takes another glance at the man and continues on his way.  Soon, another Levite, a Temple assistant comes by.  He also sees the man and is sorry, but the same thoughts run through this man’s head.  He crosses to the other side of the road so that he will not be defiled by touching the man, and continues on his way.”

Luke 10:30-32

Leave a Reply

